DC Chapter of Young Democrats of America Reorganizes with New Membership and Board

District of Columbia -- On June 25, the Young Democrats of Washington DC held a reorganizing convention to restructure the organization and legitimize themselves as the official unit of the Young Democrats of America in DC.

Young Democrats of Washington DC, also known as YDDC, is an independent organization for young democrats in DC. Its purpose is to encourage young people who live, work, and vote in DC to become involved in the democratic process by providing training and workshops to members so that they might be better able to involve themselves in electoral politics and the political process. 

With over 30 young democrats present, the organization elected a diverse leadership board: Alex Marsh as President; Joey Lazzerini Executive Vice President; Andrew Connery as Vice President; Mike Myers as Treasurer; Corinne Falotico as Secretary; David de la Fuente and Jillian Cardillo as National Committee Members; Casey Farrington as Political Director; Catie Cryar as Communications Director; LaTwyla Mathias as Membership Director; Josh Deese as Policy Committee Chair; and Amanda Hooper as the Women’s Caucus Chair.

Since the convention, YDDC has remained hard at work and active within the DC community. On July 4th members of YDW marched with Mayor Bowser in DC's annual Independance Day Parade. Members also joined up with NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia to organize a phone bank, calling nearly 500 voters advocating support for Dr. Jill McCabe, a democrat running for State Senate.

For more information or to get involved with YDDC visit Facebook or Twitter.